Australian Curriculum

Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum provides the core knowledge, understanding, skills, general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities important for our students at Seaford Secondary College.

Through innovative and rich pedagogical practices, our students learn and grow in an environment that fosters the elements of the Australian Curriculum as we strive to develop students as active, global citizens.

There are three dimensions to the Australian Curriculum:

  • Learning Areas
  • General Capabilities
  • Cross-Curriculum Priorities

1. Learning Areas

The Australian Curriculum is organised into learning areas and subjects. The AC provides the content, skills and understandings to be taught at each year level. The achievement standard describes what he student will know and be able to do as a result of their learning.

  • English
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • The Arts
  • Languages
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health & PE
  • Technologies

2. General Capabilities

General capabilities are the skills and abilities intended to help prepare young Australians to learn, live and work in the 21st century. The Australian Curriculum has seven general capabilities:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • ICT Capability
  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Personal and Social Capability
  • Ethical Behaviour
  • Intercultural Understanding



3. Cross-Curriculum Priorities

Teachers at Seaford Secondary College use the cross-curriculum priorities to support the learning area content and to allow students to make connections with real-world contexts.


Students are assessed based on the Achievement Standards set for each learning area. Students will receive an A-E grade for their summative work, as well as course reports.

Supporting All Students

Every student is unique, with different needs and interests. Teachers use the curriculum to plan in ways that respond to those needs and interests. The Australian Curriculum is flexible, allowing schools and teachers to personalise learning for students with disability; gifted and talented students; and students for whom English is an additional language or dialect.

For more information, please visit the Australian Curriculum website:

Please speak to your child’s teacher for more details.